top of page

DIARY OF AN ADVENTURER: ONE OF MY GREATEST ADVENTURES


ANZAC Cove, Turkey | larissajodee BLOG

There is one day a year where I feel the most proud to be a kiwi. It is the day where Australians and New Zealanders come together to commemorate our soldiers who bravely lost their lives fighting against the Turkish during World War One. This year we comemorated 101 years since the fighting and I was fortunate enough to attend the dawn service at the battle grounds now called ANZAC Cove after our soldiers.

The service is held at dawn each year as this is when the soldiers landed on the beach, under the cover of darkness. All throughout Australia and New Zealand, and increasingly around the world, a dawn service is held in many different communities at dawn. For the 100 year celebration last year I attended the dawn service in London as tickets were balloted out a long time in advance.

This year, I camped out under the stars at the site where so many of our soldiers lost their lives. Despite the sleeping bag recommendations from our trip leader, I decided that living in Scotland for the last six months would have well and truely prepared me for whatever the skies threw at us. It rained. And when I say rained, I mean the sky opened up and we got a full on sound and lighting demonstration. In the past 10 years, this was the wettest service they had had. I learnt that if you combine two ponchos together, end on end, it makes for a nice waterproof cocoon!

We arrived at the site of the dawn service around 7pm the night before. It had been a long day of travel all the way from Istanbul and we were all ready to settle in for the night. This was not to be the case however as the live entertainment as well as various documentaries continued to play throughout the night making it almost impossible to sleep, despite my best efforts. The rain didn't help either!

ANZAC Cove, Turkey | larissajodee BLOG

At about 5am, the dawn service began. This years dignataries were sadly well underpresented due to the high terrorism threats in Turkey. I cannot describe the feeling felt througout that service. It made me so proud to belong to a nation that has such strong traditions during ceremonial events. I am so proud that as a nation, this day in our history is still so widely remembered. The service ended with the national anthems, New Zealand, Australian as well as the Turkish, followed by the last post and by this point I let my tears flow freely.

This year was particular special for me as I was given the chance to understand the battle from the Turkish perspective. As a country who was invaded by our soldiers, they are very forgiving and accepting of us having our commemoration at this site in their country year after year. I think it shows a lot about the Turkish people where they allow us to freely have our day, and even go as far as sending a representitive to our service. It hurts me that so many people have been put off of going to Turkey because of the terrorism that they have got themselves caught up in. Unfortunately this year, because of the terrorism threats, the Australian Government decided not to hold a service at the Lone Pike battle grounds, the Australian memorial. Sadly too, they advised Australians not to travel to Turkey for the service this year.

ANZAC Cove, Turkey | larissajodee BLOG

After the dawn service concluded, running on nothing but pride and adrenaline, we began the hike up to the New Zealand service, via the Austrailian memorial site. The sun was already high in the sky at this stage and the body clock was a bit confused. It was a surreal feeling to walk where our soldiers did and see some of the trenches they used, still in the same condition. There are so many gravesites throughout the site of the battle, which have been made around areas where groups of bodies were found. The 9am ice cream made the hike to the top a bit easier but the sun was already burning down with no clouds to protect us.

I am proud that the New Zealanders still went ahead with our service at Chunik Bair. Once again, as the national anthem and the last post concluded the service I didn't even try to hold back the tears. Living in the UK for the last two years made this service particularly special for me. I felt such a sence of pride to say that New Zealand is my country.

ANZAC Cove, Turkey | larissajodee BLOG

"Keep smiling, because life is a beautiful thing and there is so much to smile about." - Marilyn Monroe

I hope this has inspired you.

LARISSAJODEE x

bottom of page